25-Man Roster Announced

The Rangers have announced the Opening Day 25-man roster. As follows:

Position players:

J.P. Arencibia
Robinson Chirinos
Chris Gimenez
Prince Fielder
Donnie Murphy
Josh Wilson
Elvis Andrus
Adrian Beltre
Mitch Moreland
Michael Choice
Shin-Soo Choo
Leonys Martin
Alex Rios
Jim Adduci


Tanner Scheppers
Martin Perez
Joe Saunders
Robbie Ross


Joakim Soria
Neal Cotts
Alexi Ogando
Jason Frasor
Pedro Figueroa
Shawn Tolleson
Seth Rosin

The rotation, as you'll likely notice, is a man short. Nick Martinez will be called up from AAA for his start in the 5th spot. Coincidentally, Colby Lewis will also start at AAA Round Rock, although he's expected to join the Major League club if he continues progressing, possibly in time for a start on April 11.

Adam Rosales will be designated for assignment, and it remains to be seen if the waiver game between Oakland and Texas for Rosales will take place again like it did in 2013.

Michael Kirkman has also been DFA'd, and assuming a team claims him on waivers -- and I'd imagine that will end up being the case -- Kirkman's time in Texas is almost certainly over.

Matt Harrison, Yu Darvish, Geovany Soto, and Jurickson Profar will start the season on the DL. Darvish and Harrison are expected back in April, while Soto and Profar will be out at least 10 weeks.

One day folks. We're almost there.