Friday Error Ruled a Hit

File this one away in the odd and confusing section. The David Ortiz ball that dropped between Rougned Odor and Alex Rios on Friday, initially ruled an error, has now been changed to a single by Major League Baseball.

Apparently not content with actually having broken up Darvish's no-hit bid with 2 outs in the 9th inning, Ortiz appealed the 7th-inning error ruling by the official scorer, and has won that appeal. I can't imagine he'll be winning over too many folks in Texas with this.

What's more confusing, to me, is how errors continue to be pointed to in order to judge a player's defensive prowess, or lack thereof. If a ball that falls between two fielders, that could have been caught by either one, and should have been caught by at least one isn't an error, then I don't know what is.

I get that this is "just the way it's been done", but that still doesn't make it right, and we're continuing to see that for all of the progress the league has tried to make on fronts such as replay, in many ways, it is still stuck in far too many traditions and the like to get out of its own way.

I suppose this doesn't matter a whole heck of a lot since Darvish didn't actually finish the deed, but it most certainly takes away from some of the appeal of Friday night's game, and for the life of me, I can't understand why the league would want to do that.